Call us now on 01206 805380

TQUK Level 3 Award in Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment (RQF) - Online

This award is the first unit of the CAVA or TAQA qualification. It is designed for learners who want to develop the knowledge required by an assessor in the vocational assessment process. If you want to deliver first aid training and have PTLLS Level 3 or 4 and no assessor qualification, you will need to complete this unit.

This unit can be put towards the CAVA or TAQA, vocational or workplace competency assessment qualifications at a later date. There is no classroom element to this course and all of the lessons and assessments are online. Unlike many training companies, we do not charge additional fees if you need to resubmit work. If you have any questions, please call us on 01206 805380.

Course Information

Course Duration: Minimum 24 Guided Learning Hours.

Course Location: 100% Online through our Virtual Learning Environment, with videos, course lessons, examples and templates are provided.

Lessons can be accessed through any mobile device, you will need word 97 or newer to be able to complete the assignments.

Course Price: £195 + VAT

book now

pay with paypal visa mastercard or amex


Access to our Moodle Based Virtual Learning Environment for 6 months.

  • Examples and templates.
  • Online tutor support.
  • Certification.

We do not charge any additional fees for work that needs to be re-submitted

Qualification Information

Award Details: TQUK Level 3 Award in Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment (RQF)

Qualification Number: 601/3913/4

Awarding Organisation: Training Qualifications UK

logo for TQ UK approved centre


  • Level 2 in literacy, numeracy or equivalent.
  • Delegates must be aged 18+.
  • Completion of our online initial assessment form.
  • Access to the Internet.
  • Laptop / Computer.
  • Word 97 or newer.
  • To be familiar with uploading and downloading files.

qualification initial assessment button

Learning Outcomes

This is a 3 credit qualification

  • Understanding the principles and practices of assessment D/605/5313

This course covers:-

  • Assessor roles and responsibilities
  • Observation performance criteria
  • Cross referencing
  • Gathering Evidence and methods
  • Assessment methods
  • Assessment records
  • Types of Assessment
  • Planning
  • Concepts and Principles of Assessment
  • Making Assessment Decisions and giving feedback
  • Feedback review Decisions - Evaluating Assessment Practice
  • Standardising Assessment Practice

More information about the Award in Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment

This qualification is delivered through our Virtual Learning Environment. When you have booked your course and completed the initial assessment, you will be emailed your login details, so that you can make a start on your course.

For each assignment, there are lessons, examples and templates, when you are happy with your work, you submit it to the Virtual Learning Environment to be marked. Your tutor will provide you with feedback and support, if you should need to make any changes, don't worry, you can make changes and submit your work as many times as you need.

The online training provides you with videos, lessons and many useful handouts to help you to complete the theoretical side of this course, your tutor will provide guidance and feedback, your assignments will be marked within 48 hours of submission, however this is often sooner.

If you choose online training, the virtual learning environment (VLE) allows you to learn at home, at your own pace and our online tutors mark your work and provide support and guidance.

Who is this for?

  • anyone who wants to gain an understanding of assessment
  • individuals who need want to deliver first aid training and need an assessing qualification


This qualification is the first unit, which can be put towards the following qualifications:-

  • Level 3 Award in Assessing Vocationally Related Achievement (RQF)
  • Level 3 Award in Assessing Competence in the Work Environment (RQF)
  • Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocationally Related Achievement (RQF)